Last updated 09/26/2022 - 4:41pm
09/26/2022 - 4:41pm

 Bellamy, Miller and Turner Inducted

Syndicate content

Labor's International Hall of Fame

Last updated 11/06/2019 - 12:15pm
11/06/2019 - 12:15pm

By Tom Schram

(UPDATED / JUNE 27, 2022) -- The Hall of Fame class to be inducted on September 15, 2022 (first announced for 2020 but delayed to this year due to COVID) is comprised of three individuals who made their marks through leadership in specific segments of the labor movement. Award-winning actor Ralph Bellamy was a key player in organizing both film and live-stage workers. Joyce Miller was a pioneering and strong advocate for women in the workforce. And Tom Turner used the might of the nascent civil rights movement of the 1960s to create equal opportunities for minority workers.


03/05/2019 - 4:26pm

Mary Ellen Riordan was the first female president of the Detroit Federation of Teachers one of the largest local unions in the nation, totaling more than 12,000 members. She held that position for more than 20 years and was a transformative figure in guiding the union into the era of collective bargaining, three major strikes, and nationally significant Supreme Court cases involving agency fees and desegregation in public schools.

Theodore (Ted) Sachs attained national importance as a labor attorney and helped shape labor-relations standards in both the public and private sectors in the United States. Among the significant cases he argued before the Supreme Court were ones that transformed case law on the principle of one person, one vote for legislative apportionment, school desegregation and the legitimization of public employee unions.


The Induction Ceremony will be held on May 16, 2019, at the Operating Engineers Local 324 Career Center located on 1550 Howard Street in Detroit. 

03/09/2018 - 3:39pm

Labor's International Hall of Fame 2018 Induction Ceremony, honoring the legacy and memory of Larry Itliong, will be held at Itliong-Vera Cruz Middle School in Union City, California on Thursday, May 17, 2018. 

Syndicate content
Site union-made by:
Union built by Prometheus Labor Prometheus Labor Union Websites